Peaches & Cream Lippies

Peaches & Cream Lippies
From L to R: Revlon Smoked Peach, Covergirl Delish, Revlon Peach, Maybelline Coral Lustre, L’Oreal Fairest Nude, NYX Stockholm, Revlon Just Enough Buff, Revlon Fashion Night’s Pout.  Not pictured above: Wet ‘n Wild Fling

My very favorite lip shades to wear are peaches and nudes. Consequently, I’ve started to develop a small collection of peachy/nude lippies (all drugstore).  Below are swatches and short reviews on these products.

Revlon Smoked Peach Revlon Smoked Peach

Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick in 013 Smoked Peach

Price: Drugstore.com: $7.99; Wal-mart: $4.97

This is the perfect peach lip color for me, and it’s matte!  I love that.   The formula is creamy and the color is quite pigmented, but it doesn’t finish as opaquely as the Covergirl lippy down below.  It’s also not a long-wear lipstick, but to me, this is somewhat expected from such a creamy formula.  At  Wal-mart, this is just under $5, which is an absolute STEAL, as is the lipstick line as whole because the color selection is outstanding.  Love this product.

Hopia Rating: 4.5/5

2013-04-03 09.35.19Covergirl Delight

Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Color in 255 Delish

Price: $6.99 @ Drugstore.com; $5.94 @ Wal-Mart

Smooth, moisturizing lippy. Great ‘my lips but better’ color for NC42s albeit slightly more nude. Swatched, it looks like a creamy salmon.  Love the creamy texture and its opaque finish.  Lasting power could be better, but overall, an awesome product.

Hopia Rating: 4.5/5

Revlon Colorburst in Peach Revlon Colorburst in Peach

Revlon Colorburst Lipstick  in 075 Peach

Price: Beautyencounter.com: $6.99

Not an awesome swatch pic- I apologize for that.  But in the pic where the color is on my lips, you can see that this peach lippy is less matte and a shade or two darker than the Smoked Peach.  This lippy feels creamier and thicker on the lips than Smoked Peach, but I’m not sure that the pigmentation matches this.  I’ve had this lippy for quite a while (hence it being discontinued in stores), and I’m almost done with the tube – I found myself reaching for this color a lot because it’s a very versatile, soft color, but I feel the formula is lacking in some ways.  Overall, a very good product.

Hopia Rating: 4/5

Maybelline Coral Lustre Maybelline Coral Lustre

Maybelline ColorSensational Lipstick in 840 Coral Lustre

Price: Wal-mart: $5.50; Drugstore.com: $7.49 (on sale)

Coral Lustre is the perfect name for this lippy.  In the tube, the color is the darkest out of all the lippies in this post.  Swatched, however, the color is actually a sheer coral, with a glossy and slightly shimmery finish.  On my lips, in the picture above, it looks very similar to the Revlon Colorburst in Peach, but again, presents with a sheerer look in person.  One thing I’ve noticed with all my Maybelline lippies is that they’re very durable and tend not to break–perhaps this sacrifices a creamy/buttery texture as you don’t necessarily get that from this lippy.  Overall, I like it, but don’t know that I’ll repurchase, at least in this particular color.

Hopia Rating: 3.5/5

Fairest Nude Fairest Nude

L’oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in 800 Fairest Nude

Price: Drugstore.com: $8.95

Very nice lippy, but don’t find myself reaching for this one as often as my other nude lipsticks.  Don’t know that it’s the best nude lip for my complexion, but I really like the rich, buttery formula.  The durability of the stick is somewhere in between Revlon and Maybelline.  The line is $5.97 as Wal-mart which is a great deal, but I don’t know that this particular color is available there.  Overall, this is a very good lipstick and although not perfect for me, the color is flattering, rich, and pigmented.

Hopia Rating: 4/5

Fairest Nude NYX Stockholm

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

Price: Nyxcosmetics.com: $6.00

Ummm… love this.  You’ll find this for $6 at most places, unless you find it in a trio package in which case you’ll get it for slightly cheaper.  Either way, this is an awesome lip cream at a very reasonable price.  As the name implies, this is a very creamy and rich (though not moisturizing) lippy that  leaves a matte finish.  The color is also very flattering for my complexion  and is pretty long lasting considering the creaminess.  And it literally smells like cream.  Again: love.

Hopia Rating: 4.75/5

Revlon Just Enough Buff Revlon Just Enough Buff

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Creme in 613 Just Enough Buff

Price: drugstore.com: $7.99; Walmart: $4.97

Perhaps a tad too light and/or cool-toned for me.  Again, a very good lipstick line as a whole-just not the right color for my olive complexion.

Hopia Rating: 3.5/5

Revlon Fashion Night's Pout Revlon Fashion Night's Pout

Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick in Fashion Night’s Pout (LE)

Price: Allcosmeticswholesale.com: $7.99

Pretty much repeating what I stated above.  Too light and too cool-toned for my taste- this is more evident in person.  Might be nice certain occasions, but this is not as versatile of a color as I would like.  Also, since this is Limited Edition, you can only find this product online and in my opinion, is not worth the money.

Hopia Rating: 3/5

Fling Wet n Wild Fling

Wet n Wild Wild Shine Lipstick in 920 Fling

Price: Allcosmeticswholesale.com: $.79

And here it is.  My least favorite peachy/nude lippy.  This is too frosty and has pretty poor staying power.  But damn, for $.79 and a max $1.99 at other places, this is product is not *that* bad.  I might have even purchased this for 50 cents at drugstore.com when it was on clearance and there was an extra 40% off all beauty products sale… I don’t know.  Anywho, not thrilled about this product, but in this particular situation , you get what you pay for.

Hopia Rating: 2/5

And there you have it!  An overview of all my drugstore peachy/nude lippies.  Think there’s a product in this color category that I must try/review?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

